Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: When are the matches? What are England’s chances? | Cricket News

When are the games? What are England’s chances? Which players should you watch out for? Everything you need to know ahead of the 2022 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup…

When and where is the T20 Women’s World Cup?

The eighth edition of the tournament will be held in South Africa between February 10 and 26, with matches played in Gqeberha – formerly known as Port Elizabeth – Cape Town and Paarl. Every match is broadcast live on Sky Sports and the competition begins on Friday with hosts South Africa facing Sri Lanka.

Friday, February 10, 4:30 p.m

Saturday, February 11, 12:30 p.m

Saturday, February 11, 4:30 p.m

Which teams are involved?

Five-time champions and tournament favorites Australia Participation South Africa, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Bangladesh in group A. England – Champions in the inaugural edition at home in 2009 but without a trophy since – are in Group B along with India, Pakistan, West Indies and Ireland.

How does the format work?

Teams play the other teams in their group once with the top two advancing to the semi-finals. The winners of Group A face the runners-up of Group B and vice versa before the winners of those matches advance to the final.

Nat Sciver and Heather Knight (Getty Images)
Nat Sciver-Brunt and Heather Knight could be key to England’s chances

Who is in the England team?

Heather Knight (captain), Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Katherine Sciver-Brunt, Lauren Winfield-H , Danni Wyatt (Southern Vipers). Travel Reserves: Issy Wong, Danielle Gibson.

Previous winners?

The word Australia comes up quite a bit…

2009 – Englandbeat New Zealand by six wickets
2010 – Australia, beat New Zealand by three runs
2012 – Australia, beat England by four runs
2014 – Australia, beat England by six wickets
2016 – West Indiesbeat Australia by eight wickets
2018 – Australia, beat England by eight wickets
2020 – Australiabeat India by 85 runs

Australia Women Win 2020 T20 World Cup (Associated Press)
Australia have won the previous two T20 World Cups and five of the seven tournaments overall

How did England do last time?

He was eliminated in the semi-finals by rain. It was a terrific way for England to go out having rallied from defeat by South Africa in their opening Group B match to see off Thailand, Pakistan and the West Indies to finish second in their group.

India were their opponents in the last four, but the teams could not take the field due to bad weather conditions in Sydney and with no reserve for the semi-finals, India qualified by virtue of winning Group A. The semi-finals in the 2023 edition have days reservation so hopefully there won’t be a repeat.

An upset Heather Knight during England's semi-final against India in Sydney during the T20 World Cup 2020 (Getty Images)
Knight looks on during England vs India semi-final during T20 World Cup 2020

How will England fare in 2023?

There is real optimism that a 14-year wait for a second T20 title can be ended. Since Jon Lewis took over as head coach at the end of 2022, England have thrashed the West Indies 8-0 – winning three ODIs and five T20 internationals – as they look to play the attacking style that has transformed the men’s Test team .

With Knight back from hip surgery and Nat Sciver-Brunt returning from a break for mental health reasons, England are almost at full strength, apart from injured all-rounder Freya Kemp. Teenager Alice Capsey has broken her collarbone, while 37-year-old Katherine Sciver-Brunt will be looking to impress in what will likely be her last major tournament.

Sophie Ecclestone (PA Images)
England’s Sophie Ecclestone is the No. 1 ranked T20I bowler in the world

Add Sophia Dunkley and Danni Wyatt at the top of the order, world No.1 ranked left-arm spinner Sophie Ecclestone and emerging seamer Lauren Bell, and England have the players to contend with. But as always, Australia remain the team to beat.

Which other players should we watch out for?

Meg Lanning returned to captain Australia after a break from the game last year and is part of a strong batting unit that also includes world No.1 Tahlia McGrath and No. 2 in the world Beth Mooney.

Use Chrome browser for more accessible video player

Safali Verma was emotional at the launch after captaining India U19 to the World Cup title in January

The elegant Smriti Mandana forms a formidable opening duo with Shafali Verma for India, with the latter looking to add to the T20 World Cup title in the U19 edition in which he captained his country in late January.

Ireland may need it Gabby Lewis to show the kind of form he showed in 2022, hitting four half-centuries and helping the team to a maiden overseas win against Pakistan in November.

Lewis’ side face a tough call to leave a group that includes England and India, but a former Ireland player, Kim Garth, will have designs on winning the title with the all-rounder now representing Australia.

Gaby Lewis, Ireland Women's Cricket Team, T20 International (Getty Images)
Gabby Lewis is part of Ireland’s squad for the T20 World Cup in South Africa

Hosts South Africa – having left captain Dane van Niekerk out for fitness reasons – will look to Laura Wolvaardt for runs and beyond Nonkululeko Mlaba and Sabnim Ismail for wickets, while spinners Alana King of Australia and India Deepti Sharma could prove to be a nightmare for the opposition batsmen.

When is the final?

The title match will take place on Sunday 26 February, from 13:00 in Cape Town. It would be a surprise if Australia weren’t in it, having contested all but one of the seven T20 World Cup finals so far.

Women’s World Cup T20 – full fixture list (all seasons UK & Ireland)

Group stage

February 10 – South Africa v Sri Lanka, Cape Town (5pm)

February 11 – West Indies vs England, Paarl (1pm)

February 11 – Australia vs New Zealand, Paarl (5pm)

February 12 – India vs Pakistan, Cape Town (1pm)

February 12 – Bangladesh v Sri Lanka, Cape Town (5pm)

February 13 – Ireland v England, Paarl (11am)

February 13 – South Africa v New Zealand, Paarl (5pm)

February 14 – Australia v Bangladesh, Geberja (5pm)

February 15 – West Indies vs India, Cape Town (1 p.m.)

February 15 – Pakistan v Ireland, Cape Town (5pm)

February 16 – Sri Lanka vs Australia, Gqeberha (1pm)

February 17 – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cape Town (1pm)

February 17 – West Indies v Ireland, Cape Town (5 p.m.)

February 18 – England vs India, Gqeberha (1pm)

February 18 – South Africa v Australia, Gqeberha (5pm)

February 19 – Pakistan vs West Indies, Paarl (1pm)

February 19 – New Zealand vs Sri Lanka, Paarl (5pm)

February 20 – Ireland vs India, Gqeberha (1pm)

February 21 – England v Pakistan, Cape Town (1pm)

February 21 – South Africa v Bangladesh, Cape Town (5pm)

Knockout stage

February 23 – First semi-final, Cape Town (1pm)

February 24 – Second semi-final, Cape Town (1pm)

February 26 – Final, Cape Town (1pm)

Both semi-finals and finals have spare days

Leave a Comment